Responsibilities of the Ministry

Disadvantaged Children and Young People

The objective is to strengthen the personal resources of disadvantaged children, young people and their families, with the goal of providing them with the same opportunities for development as their peers.

Socially Excluded Adults

Socially excluded adults include people above 18 years of age with social problems or in danger of developing social problems. Social problems may include homelessness, abuse, mental illness, prostitution, or violence in intimate relations, or a combination of these issues.


Disability Policy

According to the Act on Social Services, aid is provided for persons with permanent impairment of physical or mental function. Social services are provided to compensate the needs following from reduced physical or mental function and improve the individual’s social and personal level of function and development.

The current Ukraine situation

Information and Q/A's in Danish

Elderly Care

Page under construction

Research and Data Development

The Ministry works ambitiously with data development and research, aiming to evolve and spread effective initiatives in the social field.

Family Law

The area of family law includes: Marriage, the matrimonial property regime, paternity and co-maternity, names, legal separation and divorce, custody, the child’s place of residence, access, child and spousal maintenance, adoption, and international child abduction.

Civil Society

The policy area concerns the many Danes doing voluntary work, the voluntary organizations and societies, and also the municipalities supporting and collaborating with the voluntary sector. The aim is to support an active and engaged civil society and promote voluntary social work.

International Collaboration and Responsibility

The ministry is responsible for tasks in the area of international affairs and participates in the work of a number of international organizations, including the EU, the Nordic Council of Ministers, the Council of Europe, UN, OECD, as well as bilateral relations.